Home > Our products > BMJ Journals > Countries with Free Access

Countries with free access

The low income and low-middle income countries detailed below are entitled to FREE access to our sites. They include the 113 developing countries, areas and territories included in the HINARI initiative. There is no need to subscribe to access the full text in the countries listed below, they will automatically qualify for free access.

To continue onto the full-text of our journals, please go to BMJ Journals.

NB IMPORTANT INFORMATION: The software that enables this procedure relies on information contained in the IP address of your internet server. Some internet service providers (ISPs) route their traffic through servers which are NOT in your country. If this country is not on the list of countries below then access will be refused. Visitors experiencing access problems are asked to check the country of origin of their ISP before contacting BMJ Group for help. In particular, the above information applies to users of AOL amongst others.

Countries whose institutions are eligible for free access (GNP per capita < $1000):

Afghanistan Albania Angola
Armenia Azerbaijan Bangladesh
Benin Bhutan Burkina Faso
Burundi Cambodia Cameroon
Central African Republic Chad Comoros
Congo Côte d'Ivoire Democratic Republic of Congo
Djibouti East Timor Eritrea
Ethiopia Gambia Georgia
Ghana Guinea Guinea-Bissau
Guyana Haiti Kenya
Kiribati Kyrgyzstan Lao People's Democratic Republic
Lesotho Liberia Madagascar
Malawai Mali Mauritania
Mongolia Mozambique Myanmar
Nepal Nicaragua Niger
Nigeria Papua New Guinea Republic of Moldova
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Senegal
Sierra Leone Solomon Islands Somalia
Tadjikistan Togo Tokelau
Turkmenistan Tuvalu Uganda
Ukraine United Republic of Tanzania Uzbekistan
Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

Countries whose institutions are eligible for free access (GNP per capita $1000-$3000):

Belarus Bolivia Cuba
Cape Verde El Salvador Equatorial Guinea
Federated States of Micronesia Fiji Guatemala
Jamaica Kazakhstan Kosovo (Serbia and Montenegro)
Maldives Marshall Islands Namibia
Paraguay Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa (Western)
Serbia and Montenegro Suriname Swaziland
The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Tonga Vanuatu
Wallis and Fortuna West Bank and Gaza